Clarksburg spotlights student athletes


sports editor

CLARKSBURG JUNIOR HIGH CHEERLEADERS — The Clarksburg Junior High cheerleaders are (front row, from left) Julianna Altom, Alexandria Derryberry, Morgan Horn, (second row, from left) Madeline Peterson, Matti Roberts, and Cassie Blount.

Junior high and high school basketball players, managers, and cheerleaders at Clarksburg School were honored for their achievements and contributions March 10 during this year’s athletic banquet in the old school gymnasium.

Clarksburg alumnus Billy Murphy served as guest speaker at the banquet, providing some of is own memories from the history of the school’s basketball program.

As Murphy detailed, he was a senior player back in 1952 when the decision was to adopt “Rockets” as the new school mascot was made.

“We’ve been the Rockets ever since,” said Murphy.

Girls Coach Porsche McClerking presented certificates to all the girls junior high and high school basketball players and managers.

He gave out some special awards to several high school players.

The Offensive Player of the Year Award went to freshman Mikayla Peterson, while freshman Ashlyn Yarbrough received the Defensive Player of the Year Award.

CLARKSBURG HIGH SCHOOL CHEERLEADERS — The Clarksburg High School cheerleaders are (front row, from left) Eryka Yewell, Aleah Gant, Ke’Arra Johnson, Taylor Hays, (back row, from left) Jessi Jones, Victoria Altom, and Sydney Segraves.

McClerking presented the Best All-Around Award to freshman Rachel Tucker and the Most Improved Award to sophomore Macy Ward.

Eighth grader Brooklyn Williams received the Newcomer of the Year Award, and freshman Krista Noble was given the Sixth Man Award.

Junior Sydney Roney was honored with the Team Captain Award.

Boys Coach Mike Limbaugh also recognized each of his junior high and high school players and managers, and he presented special awards to outstanding high school players.

This year’s Rocket Award went to senior players Trent Boyd and Mason Boyd.

Junior Devin Wildridge received the Playmaker Award, and junior Bailee Webb was honored with the Big Man Award.

The Most Improved Award went to junior Jake Bates, and junior Austin Pritchard received the Sixth Man Award.

CLARKSBURG JUNIOR HIGH LADY ROCKETS — The Clarksburg Junior High Lady Rockets are (front row, from left) Brooklyn Williams, Makiya Abdallah, Emily Peterson, Madeline Peterson, Jasmine Bailey, Sarah Derryberry, Sami Roney, (second row, from left) Emily Reeves, Grace Bartholomew, Anna Taylor, Kaylan Belew, Morgan Peterson, Anna Claire Webb, Layten Willis, (back row, from left) Carly Blount, Cassie Blount, Chloe Crum, Lilly Wortham, Libby Autry, Maleigha Abdallah, and Briley Sutton.

Mason Boyd, Trent Boyd, and Jake Bates were all presented with Academic Awards for maintaining a 3.5 GPA or higher during the basketball season.

Cheer sponsor Kayla Tharp recognized the junior high and high school cheerleaders.










CLARKSBURG HIGH SCHOOL LADY ROCKETS — The Clarksburg High School Lady Rockets are Makiya Abdallah, Brooklyn Williams, Macy Ward, Rachel Tucker, Casey Derryberry, (second row, from left) Sydney Roney, Ashlyn Yarbrough, Krista Noble, Mikayla Peterson, Emily Peterson, (back row, from left) Jasmine Bailey, Madeline Peterson, Shy’Ann Williams, Sami Roney, and Sarah Derryberry.

CLARKSBURG JUNIOR HIGH ROCKETS — The Clarksburg Junior High Rockets are (front row, from left) Michael Schaffer, Tristan Donth, Spencer Webb, Dakota Garner, Curtis Miller, Newt Atkinson, Nathan Yewell, (back row, from left) Brayden Cobb, Logan Witcher, Prentis Pledge, Noah Milam, and Rian Johnson.

Email Ron

Click here to subscribe to the Carroll County News-Leader









CLARKSBURG HIGH SCHOOL ROCKETS — The Clarksburg High School Rockets are (front row, from left) Ty Hendrix, Austin Pritchard, Dakota Garner, (second row, from left) Devin Wildridge, Bailee Webb, Trent Boyd, Mason Boyd, Jake Bates, (back row, from left) Nathan Yewell, Spencer Webb, Peyton Collins, and Nathan Reed.

Leave a Comment